From optical illusions to a rich mountain history, Mystery Hill is a fun and educational experience for the entire family.
The attraction’s mission is to have a family-oriented entertainment complex that is devoted to enriching the lives of people of all ages.
“This place is so special because the people come here to have fun,” said Wayne Underwood, owner of Mystery Hill.
Mystery Hill has been in the Underwood family name for 68 years, and Wayne hopes that the family-friendly environment will encourage visitors in a positive way.
“Families need to be able to do more together. It seems that through all of the hustle and bustle of things, folks seem to forget that. We have activities for families to learn and have fun together,” Underwood said.
The current facility has several attractions, including the Mystery Platform, Mystery House, Hall of Mystery, Appalachian Heritage Museum and Native American Artifacts Museum.
Guests can experience several optical illusions and hands-on activities during their visit.
Mystery Hill has quite an interesting history, dating back to the early 1900s, when William Hudson, the original owner of the land, discovered some strange phenomena on his property. The first discovery was the Mystery Platform.
Hudson operated a cider mill on an old wooden platform. Identical twins worked at the mill, and Hudson noticed that the twin who stood on the north end of the platform looked taller. Astonished by this, Hudson asked the twins to switch places, only to discover that the twin who stood on the north end always appeared to be taller.
Visitors can still experience the original Mystery Platform today.
The second phenomenon came from Hudson’s apple trees. The trees in his orchard grew toward the north, directly into the prevailing winds. Hudson noticed the apples always fell on an old crooked path, which meant the apples were rolling uphill. He built a new straight path, but the apples continued to fall onto the old one. Hudson even found himself being pulled onto the old path time and time again.
In 1948, while reading LIFE magazine, Hudson stumbled upon an article about a strange place in California that experienced similar happenings. Hudson visited the site, and decided to build the first Mystery House when he returned to Boone.
In 1957, Buford Stamey and Rondia J. Underwood were looking to build a restaurant and considered Mystery Hill as their location. Throughout their tour, Hudson explained the strange happenings that existed on the property. It seemed the gravitational pull on the side of the mountain caused unusual things to happen.
Rondia J. Underwood purchased the entire operation in 1958, and it has been open to the public ever since.
The original Mystery House is still standing and available for the public’s enjoyment today.
Mystery Hill is open year-round, excluding Christmas Day. From June through August, hours of operation are 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. and from September through May 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Mystery Hill is located at 129 Mystery Hill Lane, off of U.S. 321 near Boone.
For more information, visit www.mysteryhill-nc.com or call (828) 264-2792.